Legislative Affairs

This committee meets regularly with local government officials and community partners to discuss various issues at the city, county, and state level. Members encourage growth in our area by promoting continual improvement of our infrastructure and local business. The group educates and advocates on behalf of membership on different levels of legislation. They meet the second Friday of every other month at 7:30 a.m. in the LEAP office.

Benefits for Committee Members: Meet with local elected officials regularly as well as other non-elected officials; Help to
develop legislative priorities for LEAP; Discuss area governmental issues that affect LEAP members and local officials

Committee Chair

Nick Otis

Next Meeting: April 12, 2024 – LEAP Office


Legislative Agenda 2023-2024

  • Continue support for local housing development in the Greater La Porte area
    • Single family homes to purchase (all price points)
    • Multi-Family rentals (market rate)
    • Condominiums
    • Townhomes
  • Support and drive healthy options and infrastructure to improve our county’s overall health
    • Healthcare options
    • Bike and trailway infrastructure
    • Healthy eating alternatives
    • Education and awareness for our community
    • New community center or YMCA development
  • Improve quality of place through more efficient traffic flow options and infrastructure
    • Economic corridor progress and approval
    • Overpass implementation and development
    • Voluntary annexation
  • Research and establish a career center within the City of La Porte. Create partnerships with local stakeholders and employers to provide on-site instruction and training.
  • Provide training resources and employment to develop and grow our pipeline of graduating students moving into the workforce.


Mike Bohacek

State Senator

John Carr


Bert Cook


Katie Dermody

Visit Michigan City La Porte

Mayor Tom Dermody

City of La Porte

Tim Franke

City Council Pro Tempore

Joe Haney

County Commission President

Kathy Henrich

General Insurance Services, Inc.

Nate Loucks

State Street Community Church/The Pax Center

Griffin Nate

Congressman Rudy Yakym’s Office

Tony Oss

Larson Danielson Construction

Fonda Owens

La Porte County Public Library

Nick Otis

Newby Lewis Kaminski & Jones, LLP.

Jim Pressel

State Representative – District 20

Mike Riehle


Randy Novak

County Council President

Tommy Sunn

La Porte County Association of Realtors

Edward Volk

La Porte Municipal Airport

Contact Us

Phone: 219-324-8584
Address: 605 Michigan Avenue
La Porte IN, 46350